Canadian TV TV US TV

Combat Hospital (ABC 2011 with Elias Koteas and Michelle Borth)

USA | ABC – Sienna Films – Artists Studio

RUNNING TIME: 60 minutes | NUMBER OF EPISODES: 13 | AIRDATES: From Tuesday June 21, 2011 @ 10.00pm

CREATOR: Jinder Oujla-Chalmers | EXECUTIVE PRODUCERS: Daniel Petrie Jr, Jennifer Kawaja, Julia Sereny, Gub Neal, Justin Thomson-Glover, Patrick Irwin, Simon Vaughan

Medical drama series Combat Hospital takes us back to 2006 and into the heart of Southern Afghanistan at the only military hospital in the area able to provide advanced surgical care. As the series begins trauma surgeon specialist Major Rebecca Gordon and newly graduated doctor Captain Bobby Trang arrive for duty at the NATO Role 3 Multinational Medical Unit based at Kandahar Airfield. It’s hardly the most salubrious or hygenic of environment, cobbled together out of wood and canvas and right in the firing line. The duo are working under the tutelage of Colonel Xavier Marks who soon makes it plain that they are in for a rude awakening.

Built on a massive 185,000 square foot set (the biggest ever mounted in Canada) in Toronto Combat Hospital is heavily authentic and full of fine detail. The location is based on the actual Kandahar Airfield and includes recreations of the helicopter landing zone, the “boardwalk” and the barracks (which is home to 15,000 people both military and civillian).

The series had the working title of The Hot Zone and is a US – Canada – UK co-production, it’s aired as a summer series fill in on ABC but given the amount that has been spent on it big things were clearly expected. Sadly only one season was made and in the US only 12 of the 13 episodes aired.

ELIAS KOTEAS as Colonel Xavier Marks
MICHELLE BORTH as Dr Rebecca Gordon
LUKE MABLY as Dr Simon Hill
DEBORAH KARA UNGER as Major Grace Pedersen MD
TERRY CHEN as Captain Bobby Trang
ARNOLD PINNOCK as Commander Will Royal

SEASON ONE 21 June – 6 September 2011
1. WELCOME TO KANDAHAR (21 June 2011)
2. ENEMY WITHIN (28 June 2011)
3. IT’S MY PARTY (5 July 2011)
5. HELL’S BELLS (19 July 2011)
6. INNER TRUTH (26 July 2011)
7. RECKLESS (2 August 2011)
8. ON THE BRINK (9 August 2011)
9. SHIFTING SANDS (16 August 2011)
10. REASON TO BELIEVE (23 August 2011)
11. BROTHERS IN ARMS (Unaired originally scheduled for 30 August 2011)
12. TRIAGE (30 August 2011)
13. DO NO HARM (6 September 2011)

Other posts featuring the following