Malice Aforethought (ITV-1 2005 with Ben Miller and Lucy Brown)

UK / ITV-1 – Granada / 2×90 minute episodes / Broadcast 10 and 11 April 2005

Writer: Andrew Payne / Novel: Francis Iles / Music: Stephen McKeon / Script Editors: Imogen Cooper, Esther Springer / Executive Producers: Charles Elton, Rebecca Eaton / Producers: Morgan O’Sullivan, James Flynn, Keith Thompson / Director: David Blair

Period drama set in the 1930s. A long-suffering village doctor decides to do away with his domineering wife making it appear to be suicide so that he can marry an eligible newcomer to the village.

Ben Miller as Doctor Edmund Bickleigh
Barbara Flynn as Julia Bickleigh
Niall Buggy as Reverend Hessary Torr
Fiona O’Shaughnessy as Florence
Orla O’Rourke as Gwynfyfryd Rattery
Peter Vaughan as Widdicombe
Phyllis Ryan as Miss Adele Peavey
Ronnie Masterson as Miss Janet Wapworthy
Megan Dodds as Madeleine Cranmere
Joseph Beattie as Denny Bourne
Lucy Brown as Ivy Ridgeway
Gemma Reeves as Beryl
Richard Armitage as William Chatford
Ger Ryan as Constance Torr
Hannah McCabe as Felicity Torr
Tom Kelly as Benjie Torr
Mal Whyte as Mr Painter
Des Braiden as Sir Tamerton Follet
Eileen Colgan as Mrs Painter

Other posts featuring the following