Nichols (NBC 1971, James Garner, Margot Kidder)

Nichols 1971 James Garner

Period crime drama series Nichols told stories of a small town Sheriff in 1915 who patrolled his beat on a motorcycle and was more interested in making money than being a sheriff. Nichols had returned home after the first world to the home town that was named after his family.

Nichols is probably the least well remembered of James Garner’s TV shows. Especially as it only last the one season. Garner, once the cancellation for the series came in, took the unusual step of killing off Nichols. The final episode focused on his twin brother trying to avenge his death.

Rockford Files devotees may be interested to note the appearance of Stuart “Angel” Margolin.

James Garner as Nichols
Margot Kidder as Ruth
Neva Patterson as Ma Ketcham
John Beck as Ketcham
Stuart Margolin as Mitch
John Harding as Salter

crew details
Creator: Frank Pierson
Producer: Meta Rosenberg

production details
Country: USA
Network and Production Companies: NBC – Warner-Cherokee
Year of Release: 1971-09-16
Duration: 24×50 minute episodes
Aired From: 16 September 1971 – 16 May 1972

Other posts featuring the following