Connect with us


Armchair Britain Premieres Mon 8 Oct on BBC One



In this new 10 part series for BBC One daytime there is a skip through the archives to discover what filmmakers found when they turned their cameras on our green and pleasant land… and viewers don’t even need to leave their seats, because this is Armchair Britain.

Narrated by Miriam Margolyes, so begins this journey round the country as Britain is brought direct into audience living rooms.

Armchair Britain takes a nostalgic, panoramic and unpredictable turn around the stranger corners of the UK, serenading bygone Brits and their lost worlds via archive footage. Each episode will focus on a specific area of Britain rich in local history, whimsy and tradition.

Every corner of the country is featured via an archive full of surprises – with great characters captured on film, revealing a lost world that is both unique and curious. Celebrating all that is quirky, Armchair Britain takes a most special look at our distinctive country.

Lending her distinctive voice to the series, Miriam takes us through some of the extraordinary footage from our recent – and not so recent – past. Miriam is the viewers’ armchair guide around Cornwall, Liverpool, the Yorkshire Dales, London’s East End, the Scottish Highlands and Islands, Newcastle, Bristol, the Welsh Valleys, Blackpool and Brighton.

Today’s Armchair destination is the Land of Cream and Pasties – Cornwall. Miriam Margolyes is our guide around stunning surfing beaches, the ancient and mysterious Bodmin Moor, and the modern wonder of The Eden Project. We meet the beatniks in Newquay and Babs and Evelyn – the Ladies of Looe Island, and join the May Day dancing in Padstow, visit the artists of St Ives, and still find time to stop off to see King Arthur’s legendary land in this wonderful whistle-stop tour.

Daytime Commissioner: Alexandra McLeod.
Executive Producer: Caroline Wright
Producers: Verity Maidlow Cornwell, Lucy Kenwright, Adam Reeve and Mark Turnbull

Airdate: Monday 8 October 2018 from 11.45am-12.15pm on BBC ONE.

Season 1 Episode 1 (of 10)