Connect with us


Bognor: Let Sleeping Dogs Lie (ITV 24 March – 9 April 1981)



In Let Sleeping Dogs Lie Bognor investigates a series of strange dog deaths that is linked to both a suspected case of rabies and a dog smuggling operation. His initial prime suspect is painter Coriander Cordingley who was on the scene at two of the deaths. He soon discovers that she is actually also working undercover for the CIA aka the Canine Information Agency.

Another fun story with a brilliant guest cast all very much playing to type. Joan Greenwood is a dotty duchess, Nigel Davenport is in charge of the CIA and Bognor once again finds he has no idea what on earth is going on although once again he does make that all important connection in the final episode that enables him to get to the bottom of things. There are trips to Copenhagen and the USA in this one and when we say Copenhagen and the USA we mean of course the Thames TV studios and surrounds.

This was the final story in the first season and like the other stories in it episodes were half hour duration and shown twice weekly.

production details
UK / ITV – Thames / 6×25 minute episodes / Broadcast 24 March – 9 April 1981

Writer: Carey Harrison / Production Design: Rod Stratfold / Director: Neville Green

Series: Bognor Season 1 Story 3

David Horovitch as Bognor
Joanna McCallum as Monica
Ewan Roberts as Parkinson
Tim Meats as Lingard
Kate Fahy as Coriander Cordingley
Andrew Ray as Cecil Handyside
Joan Greenwood as Duchess of Dorset
Frances Low as Rose
Elizabeth Spriggs as Ailsa Potts
Alfred Molina as Waiter
Charmian May as Dog Woman
Victor Winding as Albert Ramble
Clare Kelly as Mrs Protheroe
Shane Rimmer as Horace Higgins
Robin Bailey as Percy Pocklington
Nigel Davenport as Edgar Eagerly
Simon Prebble as Newscaster

Individual Episodes were titled
1. Dog’s Dinner
2. A Handful Of Ashes
3. Meet The Mole
4. I Am Yellow – Memoirs Of A Danish Dog-Lover
5. Dummy Run
6. Feeding Time