Connect with us


Lord Peter Wimsey: Five Red Herrings (BBC One 1975, Russell Hunter, John Junkin)



Lord Peter Wimsey Five Red Herrings BBC 1975

In Five Red Herrings Peter Wimsey is planning a nice bit of relaxation fishing at an artists colony in Scotland. Instead he gets caught up in murder.

Five Red Herrings was the final Ian Carmichael Lord Peter Wimsey story, a production assistants strike at the BBC led to more location filming than was the norm. Although the original novel was set during the summer months this was actually filmed during winter.

Ian Carmichael, a long fan of the books, had been trying to get a Lord Peter Wimsey series off the ground for five years before the BBC went with the series. Wimsey made his first appearance in the Sayers novel Whose Body? (1923) and his last in two short stories published in In the Teeth of Evidence (1940), after which Miss Sayers dedicated herself to religious writing.

production details
UK / BBC One / 4×50 minute episodes / Broadcast 23 July – 13 August 1975

Series: Lord Peter Wimsey Story 5

Writer: Anthony Steven / Novel: Dorothy L. Sayers / Producer: Bill Sellars / Director: Robert Tronson

Ian Carmichael as Lord Peter Wimsey
Glyn Houston as Bunter
Roy Boutcher as Henry Strachan
David Rintoul as Jock Graham
Michael Elder as Sergeant Dalziel
Russell Hunter as Matthew Gowan
Donald Douglas as Hugh Farren
John Junkin as Mr Alcock
Clive Graham as Michael Waters
David McKail as John Ferguson
James Copeland as Wully Murdoch
Susan Macready as Gilda Farren
Michael Sheard as Inspector Macpherson
Julie Peasgood as Fenella Strachan
Robert James as Sir Maxwell Jamieson
Sally Kingdom as Betty
Jan Wilson as Miss Selby
Eileen McCallum as Miss Cochrane
Jake D’Arcy as Hammond
Irene Sunters as Mrs Smith-Lemesurier
Elizabeth Sinclair as Jeanie