Connect with us


Within These Walls: The Mystery (ITV 23 Oct 1976, with Lillias Walker)



Within These Walls Title Generic

In The Mystery new prisoner Jenny Rowe arrives at Stone Park to serve a three month sentence for shop-lifting, she seems more than a little interested in Aileen Crudley. We know that Rowe is not who she seems to be, she has dyed her hair, is wearing glasses and is drably dressed.

Later whilst Aileen is taking a bath someone deliberately tries to drown her (we don’t see who but of course we can guess), she survives but Governor Forrester thinks they should try and arrange a transfer to another prison for her. In the meantime she is left on the same wing.

This turns out not to be the best idea as Aileen is murdered (stabbed with a knitting needle) during a film night. A major police investigation ensues but it is actually Liz Clarke who discovers Aileen’s killer. Liz had become concerned that Jenny Rowe’s family should know about her predicament and pays a visit, with Rev Prentice, to the flat she was staying in before her arrest. They persuade the landlord to let them look around the flat and discover the details about her real identity – she turns out to be a Mrs Rawlins – the mother of the boy that was killed by Aileen.

The movies the inmates are watching when Aileen is killed is Holiday on the Buses (the series was also a London Weekend Television production)

UK / ITV – London Weekend Television / 1×50 minute episode / Broadcast Saturday 23 October 1976 at 9.30pm

Writer: Tony Hoare / Production Design: Roger Hall / Director: Bryan Izzard

Series: Within These Walls Season 4 Episode 8

Katharine Blake as Helen Forrester
Mona Bruce as Mrs Armitage
Denys Hawthorne as Dr Mayes
Beth Harris as Miss Clarke
Jerome Willis as Charles Radley
Maureen Sweeney as Tessa Brady
David Butler as Rev David Prentice
Lillias Walker as Jenny Rowe
Gil Brailey as Christine Jones
Mandy More as Patsy Danvers
Geraldine Moffatt as Aileen Crudley
Elaine Wells as Officer Spencer
Lennard Pearce as Mr Kearny
Alison Groves as Officer Poole
Derek Seaton as Detective Sergeant Pope
Stanley Lebor as Chief Supt Cronin