Connect with us


All The President’s Men (1976, Robert Redford, Dustin Hoffman)



All the President’s Men is a well-made thriller based on the unrelenting efforts of Washington Post reporters Woodward and Bernstein to uncover the Watergate scandal that ultimately ended the presidency of Richard Nixon. Robards couldn?t be better as editor Ben Bradlee, and the painstaking recreations of newsroom and D.C. settings put the audience in the midst of deadline-beating tension and filled journalism schools for years after!

While the Washington Post did not allow filming of All the President’s Men to take place in the newspaper’s offices, they did send numerous props to the studio set, including directories, mail and trash cans.

Academy Award Nominations: 8, including Best Picture; Best Director.

production details
Country: USA
Release Year: 1976

Book: Bob Woodward, Carl Bernstein
Script: William Goldman
Director: Alan J. Pakula

Jason Robards as Ben Bradlee
Dustin Hoffman as Carl Bernstein
John Randolph as John Mitchell (voice) (uncredited)
John O’Leary as Attorney #1
Lindsay Crouse as Kay Eddy
Jack Warden as Harry M. Rosenfeld
Ned Beatty as Martin Dardis
Robert Redford as Bob Woodward
Martin Balsam as Howard Simons
Polly Holliday as Dardis’ secretary
Dominic Chianese as Eugenio R. Martinez
Robert Walden as Donald H. Segretti
Neva Patterson as CRP Woman
James Murtaugh as Congress Library Clerk
Hal Holbrook as Deep Throat
Jane Alexander as Judy Hoback
Meredith Baxter as Debbie Sloan
Stephen Collins as Hugh W. Sloan, Jr.
Penny Fuller as Sally Aiken
Penny Peyser as Sharon Lyons
F. Murray Abraham as Arresting Officer #1
Anthony Mannino as Arresting Officer #2
David Arkin as Eugene Bachinski
Richard Herd as James W. McCord, Jr.
Ron Hale as Frank Sturgis
Nicolas Coster as Markham
John McMartin as Scott
Frank Latimore as Judge
Nate Esformes as Virgilio R. Gonzales
Joshua Shelley as Al Lewis
Gene Lindsey as Alfred D. Baldwin
James Karen as Hugh Sloan’s attorney
Basil Hoffman as Assistant Metro Editor
Stanley Bennett Clay as Assistant Metro Editor
Richard Venture as Assistant Metro Editor
John Furlong as News Desk Editor
Valerie Curtin as Miss Milland
Jess Osuna as Joe
Allyn Ann McLerie as Carolyn Abbott
Christopher Murray as Photo Aide
Frank Wills as Himself
Bryan Clark as Arguing Attorney
Gene Dynarski as Court Clerk
Sid Ganis as L.A. Stringer
George Wyner as Attorney #2
Jamie Smith-Jackson as Post Librarian
Henry Calvert as Bernard L. Barker
Ralph Vaughan Williams as Ray Steuben
Carol Trost as Ben Bradlee’s secretary
John Devlin as Metro Editor
Cara Duff-MacCormick as Tammy Ulrich (uncredited)
Louis Quinn as Salesman