Connect with us


Passport to Pimlico (Ealing 1949, Margaret Rutherford, Stanley Holloway)



The detonation of a Second World War bomb in Pimlico uncovers evidence that the neighbourhood was annexed by, and remains a part of, Burgundy. It dawns on the locals that the dreary rationing regulations no longer apply to them, as they declare independence, and the area is permanently en fête.

Whitehall is not best pleased and Pimlico is ring-fenced and under siege. The newly dubbed Burgundians become a national cause célèbre but eventually order is restored and Pimlico is readmitted to Britain.

Passport to Pimlico is a great movie, an exuberant cry against austerity and bureaucracy in a Britain which had elected, by a landslide, a reformist Labour government and then watched it crumble through revisionism, timidity and in-fighting. ‘Tibby’ Clarke’s script, with its shrewd political underpinning, was nominated for an Oscar while Henry Cornelius was a first-time director whose orchestration of a large ensemble never prevented deft touches. He only completed five features, of which his greatest hit was Genevieve, before his early death at 45.

…Pimlico works because it revives that deep sense of wartime camaraderie, yet it also expressed the healthy scepticism that had invaded British social life since the war. The flavour of the film is nicely caught in the sentiment delivered by Connie Pemberton, played by Betty Warren: ‘We always were English and we always will be English and it’s just because we’re English we’re sticking out for our right to be Burgundians.’

production details
UK / Ealing / 84 minutes / 1949

Director: Henry Cornelius
Writers: T.E.B. Clarke,

Margaret Rutherford as Professor Hatton-Jones
Stanley Holloway as Arthur Pemberton
Hermione Baddeley as Edie Randall
Paul Dupuis as Duke of Burgundy
Jane Hylton as Molly
Betty Warren as Connie Pemberton
Barbara Murray as Shirley Pemberton
Sydney Tafler as Fred Cowan
Frederick Piper as Garland
Philip Stainton as P.C. Spiller
Basil Radford as Gregg
Naunton Wayne as Straker
Roy Carr as Benny Spiller
Nancy Gabrielle as Mrs. Cowan
Malcolm Knight as Monty Cowan
Roy Gladdish as Charlie Randall
Stuart Lindsell as Coroner
Gilbert Davis as Bagshawe
Michael Hordern as Bashford
Arthur Howard as Bassett
Bill Shine as Captain Willow
Joey Carr as Dave Parsons
Lloyd Pearson as Fawcett
Arthur Denton as Customs Official
Tommy Godfrey as Bus Conductor
Masoni as Conjurer
Grace Arnold as Pompous Woman
Paul Demel as Central European
Harry Locke as Sergeant
James Hayter as Commissionaire
John Slater as Frank Huggins
Raymond Huntley as Mr. Wix
Fred Griffiths as Spiv
Sam Kydd as Sapper
Charles Hawtrey as Bert Fitch

and this just in

News7 mins ago

TONIGHT! “20/20” Reports on the ‘Jekyll and Hyde’ Story of an Upper East Side Surgeon and Pilot

ABC News Copyright ©2021 American Broadcasting Companies, Inc. On the surface, Robert Bierenbaum seemed to have it all – he...

Episodes3 hours ago

Summer House: Summer House Winter Charm 101 (S5EP Bravo Mon 25 Oct 2021)

Summer House Winter Charm 101: The cast looks back on some of their most dramatic moments and teases their new...

Episodes3 hours ago

For My Man: Man, or Monster? (S6EP22 TV One Mon 25 Oct 2021)

Man, or Monster?: A heartbreak sends a vivacious mother of seven into the arms of a wealthy gentleman. After nearly...

Episodes3 hours ago

Intervention: Peter (S23EP2 A&E Mon 25 Oct 2021)

Peter: Addiction experts help a man cope with his addiction to fentanyl, and they discover that the man grew up...

Episodes3 hours ago

The Good Doctor: Rationality (S5EP4 ABC Mon 25 Oct 2021)

Rationality: Dr. Shaun Murphy and the team treat a young girl whose father’s personal research complicates their treatment plans. Meanwhile,...

Episodes3 hours ago

Ordinary Joe: Always Do the Right Thing (S1EP6 NBC Mon 25 Oct 2021)

Always Do the Right Thing: With Jenny out of town for work, Nurse Joe faces the challenges of parenting Christopher...

Episodes3 hours ago

E! True Hollywood Story: Victoria’s Secret (S21EP10 E! Mon 25 Oct 2021)

Victoria’s Secret made moguls out of models, and redefined the standard of beauty for an entire generation, but behind the...

Episodes3 hours ago

American Dad!: Steve’s Franken Out – Halloween Special (S17EP22 TBS Mon 25 Oct 2021)

Steve’s Franken Out: When Principal Lewis threatens to cancel science club, Steve takes matters into his own hands in a...


Episodes3 hours ago

We’re Here: Del Rio, Texas (S2EP3 HBO Mon 25 Oct 2021)

Del Rio, Texas: Pride Month proves the perfect opportunity for Bob, Eureka, and Shangela to visit the border town of...

Episodes3 hours ago

The Big Leap: I Should Have Gone to Motown (S1EP6 FOX Mon 25 Oct 2021)

I Should Have Gone to Motown: With the premiere of the show only a day away, Brittney and Simon get...

Episodes3 hours ago

Help! I Wrecked My House: This Is Not Our House (S2EP8 HGTV Mon 25 Oct 2021)

This Is Not Our House: Despite having no DIY experience, a couple has been working on their fixer upper every...

Episodes3 hours ago

Fatal Attraction: A Revival’s Revenge (S11EP15 TV One Mon 25 Oct 2021)

A Revival’s Revenge: When a loving mother is killed in a violent hit and run, police initially suspect this was...

Episodes3 hours ago

The Young and the Restless: Ep. #12224 (S2021EP203 CBS Mon 25 Oct 2021)

Abby leans on Devon for support, Michael shares his plan of attack with Amanda, and Phyllis clears the air with...

Episodes3 hours ago

Below Deck: Season 9 Premiere (S9EP1 Bravo Mon 25 Oct 2021)

First Officer Eddie Lucas and Chef Rachel Hargrove return as part of the My Seanna crew as the superyacht begins...

Episodes3 hours ago

Nick Cannon: Foodgod; Meg Ryan (S1EP21 Syndication Mon 25 Oct 2021)

Foodgod; Meg Ryan – Food Influencer Foodgod is here to chat about his new show FOODGOD where he hits up...

Episodes3 hours ago

Halloween Baking Championship: Finale: The Killer Is… (S7EP7 Food Network Mon 25 Oct 2021)

Finale: The Killer Is…:The four finalists face their fears when host John Henson challenges them to bake using a hated...