Connect with us

News

2022 AFL Grand Final Start Time Announced

Published

on


The AFL has announced that the 2022 Toyota AFL Grand Final will take place at the MCG on Saturday, September 24 at 2:30pm AEST, as is traditional.

For the first time in two years, the Toyota AFL Grand Final will be held at the MCG in 2022, after the pandemic forced the annual AFL premiership decider to be moved interstate.

While the AFL Executive and Commission acknowledged the great presentation of the twilight event during the 2021 Toyota AFL Grand Final in Perth, they shared a strong belief that the timeslot should remain in its traditional slot for 2022, according to AFL Chief Executive Officer Gillon McLachlan.

“Prior to the start of this season, we emphasised that after two really challenging years, we all yearned to return to the footy rituals and routines that set the rhythms of our lives, to continue to focus on getting back to football and going to football as we know it,Mr McLachlan said. “That return-to-rituals principle underpinned our decision making in ratifying a traditional start time – the prestige, nostalgia and atmosphere of the day Grand Final is something we all know and love.

“Our role is to deliver fans the best possible game experience, whether that be at the match or the millions watching the broadcast, and together with our broadcast partner the Seven Network, we remain committed to creating an amazing event, and seeing 100,000 fans return to the MCG on that last Saturday in September.”

“The 2022 Toyota AFL Grand Final is sure to be a fantastic spectacle for both the fans in the stadium and the millions watching around the country and overseas.”

Local start times by each State / Territory: 

AEST 2:30pm – ACT, NSW, QLD, TAS, VIC
AWST 12:30pm – WA
ACST 2:00pm – NT, SA