Connect with us


2022 “VMAs” Announces First Performers



Fans can vote for their favorites across 22 gender-neutral categories by visiting through Friday, August 19th, thanks to Burger King®. Voting for “Best New Artist,” presented by EXTRA® Gum, remains active into the show.

· Anitta
The charismatic global pop sensation is slated to make her “VMAs” main stage debut with a first-time TV performance of her newest chart-topping single, “Envolver,” which recently earned the Brazilian superstar Guinness Book of World Records certification as the first solo Latin artist to hit #1 at Spotify. Anitta is also up for her first “VMAs” award in the “Best Latin” category, making her the first Brazilian artist to be nominated for a Moon Person.

· J Balvin
Colombian global superstar J Balvin is set to make a fiery return to the “VMAs” stage with a TV/world premiere of “Nivel de Perreo” with Ryan Castro, returning for the first time since his epic on-stage collaboration with Bad Bunny for “Que Pretendes” in 2019. The 13x nominee with 5 wins is also looking to take his sixth Moon Person for “Best Latin” (“In Da Getto” with Skrillex), which would crown him as the most awarded Latin artist in “VMAs” history.

· Marshmello x Khalid
Together, Marshmello and Khalid are set to take over the iconic MTV stage for a world premiere TV performance of new chart climbing collaboration “Numb.” Marshmello – a 5x “VMAs” nominee – will make his main stage debut this year. Khalid returns to the “VMAs” stage for the first time since his unforgettable 2017 debut with Logic and Alessia Cara for “1-800-273-8255,” where he also took home “Best New Artist.”

· Panic! At The Disco
Panic! At The Disco returns to the “VMAs” stage for the first time since 2018 to world premiere new single “Middle of a Breakup,” from the forthcoming album Viva Las Vengeance. The 9x nominee, who first won in 2006 for “Video of the Year,” also looks to take home a win for “Alternative Video,” their first nomination in this category.

Previously announced “VMAs” news includes:

NOMINATIONS: Jack Harlow, Kendrick Lamar, Lil Nas X (7), along with Doja Cat and Harry Styles (6) lead; Billie Eilish, Drake, Dua Lipa, Ed Sheeran, Taylor Swift and The Weeknd (5) closely follow. Full list here. Nominations for social categories “Group of the Year” and “Song of Summer” to be announced soon.

CREDITS: Bruce Gillmer and Den of Thieves co-founder Jesse Ignjatovic are Executive Producers; Barb Bialkowski is Co-Executive Producer. Alicia Portugal and Jackie Barba serve as Executives in Charge of Production. Wendy Plaut is Executive in Charge of Celebrity Talent. Lisa Lauricella is Music Talent Executive.