“The 50th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards” Rescheduled for Friday Dec. 15 on CBS

The 50th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards Rescheduled for Friday Dec. 15 on CBS

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) and CBS have announced that the 50th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards will be rescheduled and broadcast live on Friday, December 15 at 9.00pm. The ceremony will be aired on the CBS Television Network and will also be available for streaming on Paramount+. This will be the 17th time that CBS has broadcast the Daytime Emmy Awards, making it the network with the most broadcasts of the event. The ceremony will be hosted by Kevin Frazier and Nischelle Turner from Entertainment Tonight and will take place at the Westin Bonaventure Los Angeles.

During the gala awards ceremony, actress Susan Lucci, who has previously won a Daytime Emmy Award, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Honors.

RELATED:   The Talk: Krysten Ritter, Kelsey Cook (CBS, June 7, 2024)

The Daytime Emmy Awards have been recognizing outstanding achievement in television programming and crafts since 1974. The awards honor work in various categories, including daytime dramas, talk shows, instructional programming, hosting, and legal/courtroom programs. In 2021, the NATAS and the Television Academy announced plans to realign the Daytime and Primetime Emmy Awards based on content genre rather than program airtime. Additionally, in recognition of the increase in content and entries for children’s programming, the first annual Children’s & Family Emmy Awards took place in 2022, with relevant categories separated from the Daytime Emmys into their own competition and ceremony. All awards are judged by professionals from the television industry.

RELATED:   'The Seven Dials Mystery': Netflix Unveils Star-Studded Agatha Christie Adaptation

The 50th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards is produced by NATAS and Associated Television International (ATI). NATAS is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television. It recognizes excellence in television through the Emmy Awards in various categories, including News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime, Children’s & Family programming, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS has over 18,000 members who are broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country.

Alastair James is the editor in chief for Memorable TV. He has been involved in media since his university days. Alastair is passionate about television, and some of his favourite shows include Line of Duty, Luther and Traitors. He is always on the lookout for hot new shows, and is always keen to share his knowledge with others.