The Traitors Triumph at Critics Choice Real TV Awards

The Traitors US Season 2

Peacock’s The Traitors emerged as a standout at the 2024 Critics Choice Real TV Awards, securing four prestigious accolades. The series won the award for Best Competition Series. The ensemble cast also earned the recognition of Best Ensemble Cast in an Unscripted Series. The talented Alan Cumming, who served as the show’s host, added two more awards to The Traitors’ tally, being honored as Best Show Host and Male Star of the Year.

The Traitors and RuPaul’s Drag Race led the nominations with five each, showcasing their popularity and impact in the world of unscripted television. Both Cumming and RuPaul were nominated in the categories of Best Show Host and Male Star of the Year, highlighting their exceptional skills in guiding and entertaining audiences. RuPaul’s Drag Race also received a nod for Best Lifestyle Show: Fashion/Beauty, celebrating its influence in the fashion and beauty spheres.

RELATED:   The Young and the Restless Recap (CBS, Thursday July 18, 2024)

The Critics Choice Real TV Awards serve to honor excellence in unscripted and reality programming. This year’s ceremony, held at the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles, celebrated the diverse range of shows that engage and captivate audiences across broadcast, cable, and streaming platforms. The blue-ribbon committees, comprised of Critics Choice Association members, carefully select the nominees based on their expertise in these genres.

In addition to The Traitors’ wins, the awards ceremony recognized other outstanding talent and shows. RuPaul’s Drag Race took home the award for Best Lifestyle Show: Fashion/Beauty, a testament to its influence in the fashion and beauty industries. Vanderpump Rules’ Ariana Madix was crowned Female Star of the Year, acknowledging her impactful performance. Apple TV+’s The Reluctant Traveler With Eugene Levy also stood out, winning two awards: Best Unstructured Series and Best Travel/Adventure Show.

RELATED:   Jeopardy! Monday July 22, 2024, Recap, Winner and Final Answer

The Critics Choice Association also presented special awards to notable figures in the industry. Tom Bergeron, a beloved and respected name in television, was honored with the inaugural Sam Rubin Award. This award was named after the esteemed KTLA anchor and longtime Critics Choice board member, Sam Rubin, who sadly passed away last month. Additionally, John Walsh received the Career Achievement Award, recognizing his enduring contribution to the world of unscripted television.

The Traitors’ success at the Critics Choice Real TV Awards underscores the show’s impact and resonance with audiences and critics alike.

Well hello there! I'm the guy who heads the content team at Memorable TV. I've an obsession for film and TV, and a stash of vintage TV magazines plus a wealth of knowledge on all things 1970's. But shh, let's keep that just between us!