Connect with us


The 2017 London Marathon airs 23 Apr on BBC-1



2017 London Marathon

Gabby Logan presents live coverage of the 37th annual London Marathon, as world-class runners and thousands of fun runners and fundraisers come together to compete in one of the world’s most famous and colourful races.

Almost 40,000 will line up for one of the most inspirational human races on the planet – and each and every one of those who do will have their own special reason to run. The majority will be aiming just to get round, some will also have personal best times to aim for, but the one sight everyone will want to see will be the finish in the Mall.

The heartbeat of the London Marathon are the many thousands running for personal, sometimes heart-breaking reasons, with fundraising and raised awareness for those very causes their main aim. Over the morning and afternoon we will highlight some of those special people who all have amazing stories to tell.

In the elite men’s race, Ethiopian Kenenisa Bekele, who won last year’s Berlin Marathon in the second-quickest time ever, could be the one to beat – but he will face a tough field which includes Kenya’s Stanley Biwott, who finished second in 2016 and 2014.

In the women’s race, Great Britain’s five-time Olympian Jo Pavey will have qualification for this year’s World Championships in her sights as part of a strong field. Olympic gold medallist and 2016 winner Jemima Sumgong of Kenya will aim to defend her title against high-quality runners, including Ethiopia’s World Champion Mare Dibaba.

Six-time Paralympic gold medallist David Weir, who has said he will retire after the men’s elite wheelchair race, is going for a record seventh win after losing out last year in a sprint finish to German Marcel Hug, who is aiming for back-to-back titles. In the women’s wheelchair race, Tatyana McFadden of the USA seeks a record fifth-straight London crown.

Joining Gabby along the way will be reporters Ore Oduba, Colin Jackson, Steve Brown and Jazmin Sawyers, while commentary comes from Steve Cram, Brendan Foster (who has sadly just announced his retirement), Andrew Cotter, six-time London Marathon wheelchair race winner Baroness Tanni Grey Thompson and Paula Radcliffe, who set the women’s marathon world record 13 years ago in London.

The 2017 London Marathon airs Sunday 23 April from 8.30am-3.00pm on BBC One.



and this just in





mytvtonight devoted to all things film and tv.