After Julius (ITV 1979, Cyd Hayman, Faith Brook)



Shown over three consecutive nights After Julius was written by Elizabeth Jane Howard and was set in 1960. The events unfolded at a country house over the course of one weekend.

The production was based on Howard’s own novel originally published in 1965. The title refers to three women in the life of Julius, he had died some twenty years before. Emma was his youngest daughter, Cressida her older sister and Esme his widow.

production details
UK / ITV – Yorkshire / 3×50 minute episodes / Broadcast 20 – 22 April 1979

Writer: Elizabeth Jane Howard / Executive Producer: David Cunliffe / Director: John Glenister

Freda Bamford as Mrs. Hanwell
Faith Brook as Esme Grace
John Carson as Felix King
Paul Copley as Dan
Cyd Hayman as Cressy Grace
Petra Markham as Emma Grace
T.R. Bowen as Dick Hammond
Raymond Francis as Major Hawkes

You may also be interested in...