Connect with us


BBC Ten O’clock News



When the ITV Network scrapped their long running news at ten bulletin the BBC decided to take advantage and move their evening bulletin from Nine to Ten, this also allowed them to run big productions straight through the evening rather than having them split by the news as before. The first newsreaders were Michael Buerk and Peter Sissons but they were replaced by Huw Edwards and Fiona Bruce in 2003. The Sunday evening bulletin runs for 15 minutes.

Main presenters have been Michael Buerk (2000-2003) | Peter Sissons (2000 – 2003) | Huw Edwards (2003-) | Fiona Bruce (2003- ) | George Alagiah (2000-) | Darren Jordon (2003-) | Jon Sopel | Natasha Kaplinsky (Sunday Presenter 2004-)

The following have also been regulars on the show Jennie Bond (Royal Correspondent 2000-2003) | Tom Coulter Northern Ireland Correspondent 2000-2002) | Frank Gardner (Security Correspondent 2003-) | Gavin Hewitt ( Special Correspondent ) | Andrew Marr (Political Editor 2000-2005) | Stephen Sackur (Washington correspondent ) | John Simpson (World Affairs Editor) | Sue Thearle (Sports Correspondent 2004-)

UK | BBC-1 | x30 minute episodes | 16 October 2000 – continuing




and this just in