Connect with us


Catherine Cookson’s The Fifteen Streets (ITV 1989, Sean Bean, Owen Teale)



Fifteen Streets ITV 1989

Period drama The Fifteen Streets was the first entry in ITV’s reasonably high budget adaptations of Catherine Cookson novels. Set in 1910 in the North of England, it featured a star making turn from Sean Bean as less than likable Dominic O’Brien who does his best to scupper the plans of his much nicer brother John who has fallen in love with schoolteacher Mary.

ITV had previously adapted Cookson’s Mallen’s books in the late seventies but this really did the whole thing justice. Big name cast members included Ian Bannen, Frank Windsor and Billie Whitelaw. Whilst alongside Bean, Owen Teale and Clare Holman both made strong impressions, both were also relative newcomers although Teale had appeared in genre favourite The Knights of God a couple of years earlier.

production details
UK / ITV – Tyne Tees – World Wide / 1×100 minute episode / Broadcast 20 August 1989

Series: Catherine Cookson Story 1

Writer: Rob Bettinson / Novel: Catherine Cookson / Costume: Christine Rawlins / Production Design: Chris Edwards / Music: Colin Towns / Camera: Ken Morgan / Director: David Wheatley

Owen Teale as John O’Brien
Ian Bannen as Peter Bracken
Sean Bean as Dominic O’Brien
Clare Holman as Mary Llewellyn
Jane Horrocks as Christine Bracken
Frank Windsor as James Llewellyn
Billie Whitelaw as Beatrice Llewellyn
Anny Tobin as Mary Ellen O’Brien
Leslie Schofield as Shane O’Brien
Faye Dannell as Katie O’Brien
Christian Rodska as Father Bailey
Mark Mulholland as Father O’Malley
Margery Bone as Nancy Kelly
Berwick Kaler as Joe Kelly
Barbara Marten as Hannah Kelly
Madaleine Moffatt as Bella Bradley
Jean Southern as Peggy Flaherty
Gillian Hope as Molly O’Brien
Scott Frazer as Mick O’Brien