Connect with us


Comedy Bandbox (ITV 1962-1966, Les Dawson, Dave Allen)



Comedy Bandbox was a mainly stand up based show that also featured some sketch type material, on this show Les Dawson, Dave Allen, Jimmy Tarbuck and Mike Yarwood all made their TV debuts (all in 1963).

Other regular performers included Mike and Bernie Winters, Dick Emery, Jewel and Norriss, Jimmy Clitheroe, Stubby Kaye, Ted Ray, Arthur Askey, Frankie Howerd, Hylda Baker, Tommy Trinder, Terry Scott, Sid James, Sandy Powell, Norman Vaughan, Charlie Chester and Bob Monkhouse as well as many others.

Hosts were originally Mike Hope and Albie Keen and from 1964 David Nixon, in fact season four was known as David Nixon’s Comedy Bandbox.

production details
UK / ITV – ABC / 40×55 minute episodes 14×40 minute episode / 1×35 minute episode / Broadcast 1 December 1962 – 27 March 1966

Producers: Peter Dulay, Ernest Maxin, Mark Stuart