Connect with us


Edward And Mrs Simpson (ITV 1978, Edward Fox, Cynthia Harris)



Edward and Mrs Simpson

Period drama serial Edward And Mrs Simpson followed the events surrounding the abdication of Edward VIII leading up to the actual day on 10th Dec 1936.

Edward Fox was riding high at the time having made a massive breakthrough in Frederick Forsyth’s Day of the Jackal and he gained most of the plaudits for his performance as Edward.

Wallis Simpson, who was still very much alive at the time of broadcast was none too pleased with the picture painted of her by the serial.

The key dates surrounding the abdictation
June 1931: Mrs Simpson is presented at court
20 Jan 1936: George V dies and Edward becomes King
27 Oct 1936: Mrs Simpson is given a decree nisi
10 Dec 1936: Edward signs the Instrument of Abdication making official his intent to resign as King.
11 Dec 1936: Gives speech to the nation.
12 Dec 1936: Heads off by boat into exile.
May 1937: Mrs Simpson’s divorce becomes absolute
3 June 1937: Edward and Mrs Simpson marry.

production details
UK / ITV – Thames / 7×60 minute episodes / Broadcast 8 November – 20 December 1978

Writer: Simon Raven / Production Design: Martyn Herbert, Allan Cameron / Associate Producer: Brenda Ennis / Producer: Andrew Brown / Director: Waris Hussein

Edward Fox as Edward
Cynthia Harris as Mrs Simpson
Andrew Ray as Duke of York
David Waller as Stanley Baldwin
Amanda Reiss as Duchess of York
Peter Ellis as Osborn
Marius Goring as King George V
Edward Jewesbury as Lord Dawson
Charles Keating as Ernest Simpson
Cherie Lunghi as Lady Thelma Furness
Kika Markham as Freda Dudley Ward
Jeremy Child as Piers Legh
Peggy Ashcroft as Queen Mary
Jessie Matthews as Aunt Bessie Merryman
Patricia Hodge as Lady Diana Cooper
Maurice Denham as Archbishop of Canterbury
Elsie Randolph as Lady Colefax
Gary Waldhorn as Chips Channon
Simon Cadell as Major John Aird
Nigel Hawthorne as Walter Monckton
Wensley Pithey as Winston Churchill
John Shrapnel as Major Alexander Hardinge
Gerald Sim as Theodore Goddard
Ed Devereaux as Lord Beaverbrook
Michael Stroud as Esmond Harmsworth
Geoffrey Lumsden as Geoffrey Dawson
Patrick Troughton as Clement Attlee
Robert Flemyng as Sir Donald Somervell