Connect with us
Once Upon A Time In Wonderland (ABC 2013, Sophie Lowe, John Lithgow)Once Upon A Time In Wonderland (ABC 2013, Sophie Lowe, John Lithgow)


Enid (BBC-4 2009, Helena Bonham Carter, Matthew Macfadyen)



Helena Bonham Carter stars as Enid Blyton and is joined by Matthew Macfadyen and Denis Lawson.

Blyton’s charming characters and classic tales have enchanted countless generations of children for almost 80 years and she has sold more than 500 million books in 40 countries. This drama casts light on the ambitious and driven woman behind the beloved Famous Five, Secret Seven, Malory Towers and the Noddy series.

From the adversity of an imperfect childhood to renowned author and household name, the orderly, reassuringly clear worlds that Enid Blyton created within her stories contrasted with the intricacy of her personal life.

production details
UK / BBC Four – A Carnival Films Production / 1×85 minute episode / Broadcast 16 November 2009

Writer: Lindsay Shapero / Music: Nicholas Hooper / Director of Photography: Matt Gray / Consultant: Barbara Stoney / Art Director: Kate Evenden / Production Design: David Roger / Executive Producers: Eleanor Moran, Sally Woodward Gentle / Producer: Lee Morris / Director: James Hawes

Helena Bonham Carter as Enid Blyton
Matthew Macfadyen as Hugh Pollock
Denis Lawson as Kenneth Waters
Claire Rushbrook as Dorothy Richards
Joseph Millson as Hanly Blyton
Ramona Marquez as Imogen
Sinead Michael as Gillian
Pooky Quesnel as Theresa Blyton
Philip Wright as Thomas Blyton
Lisa Diveney as Enid Aged 19
Alexandra Brain as Enid Aged 12
Samuel Hilton as Hanly Blyton Aged 8
James Warner as Carey Blyton Aged 4
Eileen O’Higgins as Maid Maggie
Gabrielle Reidy as Mrs Waters
Douglas Reith as BBC Interviewer
Nicholas Lumley as Doctor Beresford
Claire Carrie as Betty
Travis Oliver as Army Officer
Toby Manley as Librarian
Harry Taylor as Chauffeur
Sion Davies as Child At Party
Isabella Blake-Thomas as Child At Party


and this just in