Connect with us


Jack Of Hearts (BBC-1 1999, Keith Allen, Ruth Madoc)



Drama series Jack of Hearts focused on Probation Officer Jack Denby who had to contend with a tough job and a troubled home life. The series opened with Jack’s girlfriend Suzanne Pryce telling him she wanted to leave London and move to Cardiff to be near her parents. She takes her six year old daughter Katie with her, but rather than face upto things Jack throws himself into his work. It isn’t long before Jack heads to Cardiff to join them and take up with a new job with the Cardiff Probation Service.

production details
UK / BBC1 / 6×50 minute episodes / Broadcast 4 August – 8 September 1999 Wednesdays 9.30pm

Writer: Siân Orrells / Executive Producers: Pedr James, Maggie Russell / Director: Tim Lyn

Keith Allen as Jack Denby
Anna Mountford as Suzanne Pryce
Ruth Madoc as Jean Pryce
Andrew Sachs as Peter Pryce
Steve Toussaint as Joe
Miranda Llewellyn Jenkins as Katie
Mark Letheren as Jim