Jane Eyre (BBC-1 2006, Toby Stephens, Ruth Wilson)

Jane Eyre is a 2006 television adaptation of Charlotte Brontë’s 1847 novel of the same name. The story, which has been the subject of numerous television and film adaptations is based on the life of the eponymous orphan. This four-part BBC television drama serial adaptation was broadcast in the United Kingdom on BBC One.

The mini-series garnered a critical acclaim and a number of prestigious nominations for its two stars and is considered to be the finest of all adaptations by a very large following of enthusiastic fans.

production details
UK / BBC / 4×50 minutes / 2006

RELATED:   Casualty: Storm Damage - Sinking Ships Day 1 (BBC Two, 15 June 2024)

Writers: Sandy Welch, Susanna White
Novel: Charlotte Bronte

Toby Stephens as Edward Rochester
Ruth Wilson as Jane Eyre
Georgie Henley as Jane Eyre (Younger)
Tara Fitzgerald as Mrs. Reed
Annabel Scholey as Diana Rivers
Lorraine Ashbourne as Mrs. Fairfax
Pam Ferris as Grace Poole
Christina Cole as Blanche Ingram
Aidan McArdle as John Eshton
Andrew Buchan as St. John Rivers
Claudia Coulter as Bertha Rochester
Daniel Pirrie as Mason
Francesca Annis as Lady Ingram
Jeanne Golding as Lady Lynn
Cosima Littlewood as Adelé Rochester
Elsa Mollien as Sophie
Rebekah Staton as Bessie
Cara Horgan as Eliza Reed
Ned Irish as George
Arthur Cox as Colonel Dent
Tim Goodman as Sir George Lynn
Bethany Gill as Eliza Reed
Sam Hoare as Lynn Brother
Alisa Arnah as Georgiana Reed
Hester Odgers as Helen Burns
Anne Reid as Gypsy Woman
Richard McCabe as Mr. Brocklehurst
Charity Wakefield as Unknown

Alastair James is the editor in chief for Memorable TV. He has been involved in media since his university days. Alastair is passionate about television, and some of his favourite shows include Line of Duty, Luther and Traitors. He is always on the lookout for hot new shows, and is always keen to share his knowledge with others.