Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell (BBC-2 2015 with Bertie Carvel and Eddie Marsan)

UK / BBC-2 / 7×60 minute episodes / Broadcast May – June 2015

Writer: Peter Harness / Producer: Nick Hirschkorn

Based on Susanna Clarke’s epic fantasy novel this seven part series takes us into the 19th century – but not the 19th century we know but one where magic has all but been forgotten about and the once powerful magicians of the past – the most charismatic people of the day – are no more. As the story begins the lives of the highly reclusive Mr Norrell (thought to be the last great magician still living) and that of wealthy Jonathan Strange intertwine when Strange discovers he too has magical powers and embarks on a mission to prove that he is the greatest living magician.

Definitely not your run of the mill period piece what with talking statues in York Minster and attempts to reanimate the dead but costumes and production design are superb and the series carries much of the books highly eccentric flavour with it.

Bertie Carvel as Jonathan Strange
Eddie Marsan as Mr Norrell
Marc Warren as The Gentleman
Charlotte Riley as Arabella
Alice Englert as Lady Pole
Samuel West as Sir Walter Pole
Enzo Clienti as Childermass
Paul Kaye as Vinculus
Edward Hogg as Segundus
Arlyon Bakare as Stephen Black
Vincent Franklin as Drawlight
John Heffernan as Lascelles
Brian Pettifer as Honeyfoot
Vernon Dobtcheff as Laurence Strange
Robert Hands as Henry
Phoebe Nicholls as Mrs Wintertowne