Connect with us


Outer Limits, The (Showtime 1995-2002)



The Outer Limits is based on the classic 1960s sci-fi series of the same name. Each episode explores the frontiers of technology, space and human nature by tackling subjects like genetic manipulation, time travel, alien visitation, and the afterlife. For instance, in Final Exam, starring Peter Stebbings and Brett Cullen, a student announces that he will detonate a cold-fusion bomb unless the government cooperates by annihilating his enemies. In The Joining, starring C. Thomas Howell and Amanda Tapping, the only survivor of a mission to Venus begins to mutate when he returns to earth.
The series has also provided a vehicle for various actors to try their hand at directing. Rebecca DeMornay, Jason Priestly and Steven Weber all directed episodes.

The Outer Limits received 16 CableACE nominations, and won the CableACE Award for Best Dramatic Series in 1995 and 1996. It has also won three back to back Saturn Awards for Best Genre Series, an Emmy Award for Amanda Plummer as Best Guest Actress in a Drama Series, two Gemini Awards for Best Drama, and a CableACE Award for David Hyde Pierce’s performance in The Sentence.

production details
Canada – USA | Showtime – CBS – Trilogy | 132 episode mostly x45 minutes | Broadcast 26 March 1995 – 18 January 2002

Producers: Pen Densham, Michael Cassutt, Manny Coto, Jonathan Glassner