Connect with us


Passing Bells, The (BBC-1 2014, Paddy Gibson, Jack Lowden)



the passing bells

A strong drama tying in with the 100th First World Anniversary Commemorations, The Passing Bells was stripped across five weekday nights and followed the progress of the war through the eyes of two ordinary young men who enlist.

Deep in the countryside, Michael and Katie are young and in love, as yet untouched by rumours of war. In a small town, delivery boy Thomas is equally oblivious to the rumblings of conflict coming from the continent. But as the news trickles through to their small communities, both boys are inspired by the thought of heroic deeds and foreign lands.

When war is announced, both Michael and Thomas defy their parents and slip out to the recruitment office, alongside thousands of other young men. As the boys don their uniforms, we see that Thomas is a British soldier and Michael is German. Each set of parents struggle to cope with their children’s deception. Rifts between their mothers and fathers cast a cloud over the boys’ final days at home.

Apprehensive of what lies ahead, Tommy and Michael set off for training. Michael makes friends easily with upright Freddie, scruffy Stefan, joker Lanzo and earnest Rudi, but that doesn’t stop him from missing Katie. Meanwhile, shy Tommy finds his niche with joker Cyril, gambling man Anthony, womanizer Kev and funny man Ben. But reality bites as the boys get their first taste of the trenches. – Program synopsis via BBC Media Release.

production details
UK / BBC-1 / 5×30 minute episodes / Broadcast 3-7 November 2014 Monday-Friday @ 7.00pm

Writer: Tony Jordan / Producer: Nick Pitt / Executive Producers: Belinda Campbell, Tony Jordan, Dariusz Jablonski, Bethan Jones / Director: Brendan Maher

Paddy Gibson as Thomas
Jack Lowden as Michael
Wilf Scolding as Freddie
Hubert Burton as Cyril
Charles Furness as Stefan
Felix Auer as Lanzo
Johnny Gibson as Rudi
Adam Long as Anthony
Ben McGregor as Kevin
Sabrina Bartlett as Katie

1. Episode One (3 Nov 2014)
2. Episode 2 (4 Nov 2014)
3. Episode 3 (5 Nov 2014)
4. Episode 4 (6 Nov 2014)
5. Episode 5 (7 Nov 2014)