Scorpion (CBS 2014, Elyes Gabel, Robert Patrick)

Scorpion, inspired by a true story, is a high-octane drama about eccentric genius Walter O’Brien (Elyes Gabel) and his team of brilliant misfits who comprise the last line of defense against complex, high-tech threats of the modern age.

As Homeland Security’s new think tank, O’Brien’s “Scorpion” team includes Toby Curtis (Eddie Kaye Thomas), an expert behaviorist who can read anyone; Happy Quinn (Jadyn Wong), a mechanical prodigy; and Sylvester Dodd (Ari Stidham), a statistics guru. Pooling their extensive technological knowledge to solve mind-boggling predicaments amazes federal agent Cabe Gallo (Robert Patrick), who shares a harrowing history with O’Brien.

However, while this socially awkward group is comfortable with each other’s humor and quirks, life outside their circle confounds them, so they rely on Paige Dineen (Katharine McPhee), who has a young, gifted son, to translate the world for them. At last, these nerdy masterminds have found the perfect job: a place where they can apply their exceptional brainpower to solve the nation’s crises, while also helping each other learn how to fit in.

RELATED:   Casualty Storm Damage: Sinking Ships - Day 2 (BBC iPlayer, June 22, 2024)

production details
USA | CBS | 93×45 minutes | Broadcast 22 September 2014 – 16 April 2018
Script: Nick Santora,

Elyes Gabel as Walter O’Brien
Katharine McPhee as Paige Dineen
Eddie Kaye Thomas as Toby Curtis
Jadyn Wong as Happy Quinn
Ari Stidham as Sylvester Dodd
Robert Patrick as Agent Cabe Gallo
Riley B. Smith as Ralph Dineen
Lochlyn Munro as Detective Jim Archer
Ace Marrero as Javier Barrios
Eddie Perez as Thug #2
Jay Giannone as Swat Captain
Glenn Keogh as Farmer / Walter’s Father
Keong Sim as Dr. Chong
Sonya Walger as Olivia Cromwell
Kelley Jakle as Janice Keller
Mark Rolston as Agent Cooke
Patrick Fischler as Kapper
Daniel Zolghadri as Young Walter O’Brien
Charles Malik Whitfield as Dan Heather
Amir Talai as Vadat
Michael McGrady as Admiral Pace
Matt Bushell as The Gooch
Billy Wirth as Mark Willis
Scott Mescudi as Peyton Temple
Catherine Dyer as Sophia Vasquez
Joshua Leonard as Mark Collins
Matt Lasky as Mikko Aleska
Fay DeWitt as Ima
Ginger Gonzaga as Maya
Shantel VanSanten as Amy Berkstead
Marcus Eckert as Daniel

Alastair James is the editor in chief for Memorable TV. He has been involved in media since his university days. Alastair is passionate about television, and some of his favourite shows include Line of Duty, Luther and Traitors. He is always on the lookout for hot new shows, and is always keen to share his knowledge with others.