Connect with us


Sea of Souls (BBC-1 2004-2007, Bill Paterson, Archie Panjabi)



In Sea of Souls a team of scientists at a Scottish university investigate strange paranormal phenomena.

Driving on a curvy road, you suddenly know what is around that the bend – and there it is, exactly as predicted. The phone rings and you know who is calling that. Coincidence? A fluke? Or are these glimpses of powers beyond our knowledge? One man’s truth is another man’s hocus-pocus, and that is where Dr. Douglas Monaghan (Bill Paterson) and his two researchers Justine McManus (Dawn Steele) and Craig Stevenson (Iain Robertson) come in. They make up the fictional Parapsychology Unit at Clyde University that is at the heart of the gripping drama Sea of Souls.

What others find terrifying – deathly séances, powerful premonitions, vivid night terrors, sinister hauntings, demonic forces, and macabre black magic – the Sea of Souls team finds mesmerizing. The members of the Paraspsychology Unit cover a spectrum of beliefs. Justine believes, and may even be clairvoyant. Craig is a total skeptic science is his God. Dr. Douglas Monaghan is caught somewhere between the two extremes. This mix of beliefs pushes the team on its mission to uncover the truth.

In the second series Dr Monaghan’s assistants had been replaced although no explanation was given for the departure of the old, and the new began as already established characters.

production details
UK | BBC One | 20×60 minutes | Broadcast 2 February 2004 – 19 April 2007

Creator: David Kane
Producer: Phil Collinson

Bill Paterson as Dr. Douglas Monaghan
Archie Panjabi as Megan (season 1)
Iain Robertson as Craig Stevenson
Dawn Steele as Justine McManus
Ben Miles as Ian O’Rourke
Peter Mcdonald as Gemmill (season 1)
Douglas Henshall as Robert Dunbar