Connect with us


Talisman, The (BBC-1 1980-1981, Patrick Ryecart, Lynn Clayton)



BBC Logo 1980s

Sunday teatime period drama series The Talisman was based on the novel by Walter Scott and took us back to the time of Richard the Lionheart and the Crusades.

The action though centered around Kenneth, Royal Prince of Scotland who was in disguise as a humble knight under the command of Richard.

Patrick Ryecart as Kenneth
Lynn Clayton as Edith
Jack Watson as De Vaux
Donald Burton as Amaury
Richard Morant as Montserrat
Damien Thomas as Ilderim
Peter Burroughs as Nectabanus
Stephan Chase as Richard The Lionheart
Joanne Pearce as Berengaria
John Moreno as Philip of France
Ivor Roberts as Archbishop of Tyre
Malcolm Terris as Leopold of Austria
Tracy Kneale as Florise
Jane Morant as Calista

crew details
Writer: Anthony Steven
Novel: Sir Walter Scott
Script Editor: Alistair Bell
Music: Stephen Deutsch
Production Design: Julian Williams
Producer: Barry Letts
Director: Richard Bramall

production details
Country: UK
Network and Production Companies: BBC One
Duration: 9×30 minute episodes
Aired From: 30 November 1980 – 25 January 1981