Connect with us


The Fenn Street Gang (ITV Sitcom, Carol Hawkins)



The Fenn Street Gang was a spin off from Please Sir! focusing on the exploits of the former members of form 5C after they have left Fenn Street Secondary Modern School.

Eric Duffy (Peter Cleall) and Sharon Eversleigh (Carol Hawkins) continue the up-and-down relationship they started at school, eventually marrying in the final series.

Frankie Abbott (David Barry) fancies himself as a “private investigator” but proves to be less than brilliant in his chosen profession. His girlfriend, Maureen Bullock (Liz Gebhardt), is training to be a nurse. Frankie continues to have problems with his mother (Barbara Mitchell).

Peter Craven (Leon Vitali, then original Craven Malcolm McFee returns) goes to work for local crook Stanley Bowler (George Baker).

Besides spinning off from Please Sir, The Fenn St Gang also garnered a spin off of it’s own with Bowler.

Carol Hawkins Joining The Gang

Carol Hawkins replaces Penny Spencer as Sharon. She had recently played the role in the big screen version of Please Sir!

Joining the gang: It’s not so much a rat race as a Minnie Mouse marathon for 22 year old Carol Hawkins who makes her first television appearance in the LWT series, The Fenn Street Gang, later this month. The show is a spin off from Please Sir! And Carol is assured of instant fame because she is taking the part of Sharon in place of Penny Spencer. “It’s fantastic, a great big break like this. Everyone is so friendly,” says Carol, who lives with her parents in Barnet, North London . Slipping into Sharon’s tights will be easy – she played the part in the film version. (Sunday Mirror 12 Sep 1971)

Cast: David Barry as Frankie Abbott; Léon Vitali as Peter Craven (1); Malcolm McFee as Peter Craven (2); Peter Denyer as Dennis Dunstable; Liz Gebhardt as Maureen Bullock; Peter Cleall as Eric Duffy; Carol Hawkins as Sharon Eversleigh; Barbara Mitchell as Mrs Abbott

Creators: John Esmonde, Bob Larbey

UK / ITV – London Weekend Television / 47×25 minute episodes / Broadcast 17 September 1971 – 15 July 1973