Connect with us


The Take (Sky One 2009, Tom Hardy, Charlotte Riley)



It’s 1984 and Freddie Jackson is just out of prison. He’s done his time, made the right connections and now he’s ready to use them. His wife Jackie dreams of having her husband home but she’s forgotten the rows and the girls Freddie can’t leave alone. His younger cousin, Jimmy, dreams of making a name for himself on Freddie’s coattails.

At first Freddie gets everything he ever wanted and Jimmy is taken along for the ride: a growing crime empire that gives them all the respect and money they’ve hungered for. But behind it all sits Ozzy – the legendary criminal godfather who manipulates Freddie and Jimmy’s fates from behind the bars of his prison cell.

Bitter, resentful and increasingly unstable, Jackie sees her life crumble while her little sister Maggie’s star rises. In love with Freddie’s cousin Jimmy, Maggie is determined not to end up like her sister.

Freddie and Jackie watch Jimmy and Maggie achieve all the dreams that they themselves failed to realise: love, family, stability and respect.

Jealous resentment and an inability to control himself force Freddie to put both the business and family at risk. Torn between being loyal to a cousin he loves and being true to his own destiny, Jimmy is forced to decide between protecting Freddie or the life he has built with Maggie.

This is a powerful human drama about love, power, violence and betrayal.

Shaun Evans as Jimmy
Tom Hardy as Freddie
Charlotte Riley as Maggie
Kierston Wareing as Jackie
Margot Leicester as Lena
Brian Cox as Ozzy
Jane Wood as Maddie
Steve Nicolson as Lewis
John Ashton as Joseph
Sara Stewart as Patricia
David Schofield as
Nicholas Day as Freddie Senior
Sam Vincenti as Fatik Nevzat
Mark Huberman as Harry Prison Guard

production info
First Air Date: June 17th, 2009
Last Air Date: July 1st, 2009
Genres: : Action & Adventure, Drama
Network: Sky One
Production Companies: : Sky 1, Company Pictures, Element Pictures, Warner Sisters Productions, Screen Ireland
Producer: Willow Grylls
Number of Seasons: : 1
Number of Episodes: : 4