Connect with us


Tomorrow’s World (BBC-1 1965-2003, Raymond Baxter, Judith Hahn)



Tomorrow’s World was the BBC’s flagship science developments show for three decades, where new technology was given the once over – and often failed to work.

A Thursday night staple along with Top of the Pops the show was seen to be something past its sell by date come the early years of the 21st century and was put out to pasture by the beeb, it celebrated its 500th episode in March 1978.

From 3 July 2002 onwards the show was known as Tomorrows World Roadshow.

Tomorrow's World

Early presenters Raymond Baxter and James Burke take a look at inflatable furniture.

production details
UK / BBC-1 / x30 minute episodes / Broadcast 7 July 1965 – 16 July 2003

Theme Music: There have been several theme tunes over the years including the first from Maius Constant, most long running was by Johnny Dankworth’s big band which ran through the whole of the 1970’s; Others were by Richard Denton & Martin Cook, Paul Hart and lastly The Divine Comedy.

Key presenters over the years have included
Raymond Baxter
Derek Cooper
William Wollard
James Burke
Judith Hahn
Kieran Prendiville
Michael Rodd
Peter Mccann
Howard Stableford
Kate Bellingham
Su Ingle
Anna Ford
Maggie Philbin
Shahnaz Pakravan
John Diamond
Vivienne Parry
Carmen Pryce
Carol Vorderman
Philippa Forrester
Craig Doyle
Ana Sitaram
Jez Nelson
Peter Snow
Sophie Raworth
Danielle Meagher
Roger Black
Adam Hunt Davis
Kate Humble
Gareth Jones
Katie Knapman