Connect with us


Broadchurch (ITV 2013, David Tennant, Olivia Colman)




Crime drama series set in the small Dorset coastal town of Broadchurch where newly arrived Detective Alec Hardy and Detective Sergeant Ellie Miller investigate the murder of a young boy as the townsfolk struggle to come to terms with events.

Broadchurch garnered a huge amount of press interest as well as strong ratings, especially as the end of the first series and revealing of the murderer got closer. At the end of the first season Hardy and Miller catch the person responsible and the second season focused pretty much on the trial and the fallout to the whole town.

Season three focused on the capture of a serial rapist but still carried repercussions of the first two seasons.

A US adaptation called Gracepoint (also starring David Tennant in the lead) began on the Fox network on 2 October 2014 it was only relatively well received and was cancelled after the first run of episodes. Interestingly Tennant was filming both Gracepoint and the second series of Broadchurch at the same time.

The first series notched up a whole swathe of awards including 4 BAFTAS (Best Drama Series, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor and The Radio Times Audience Award).

production details
UK / ITV – Kudos / 24×50 minute episodes / Broadcast 4 March 2013 – 17 April 2017

Writer: Chris Chibnall / Music: Ólafur Arnalds / Executive Producers: Jane Featherstone, Chris Chibnall

David Tennant as Detective Inspector Alec Hardy
Olivia Colman as Detective Sergeant Ellie Miller
Tracey Childs as Chief Superintendent Elaine Jenkinson
Jodie Whittaker as Beth Latimer
Andrew Buchan as Mark Latimer
Matthew Gravelle as Joe Miller
Carolyn Pickles as Maggie Radcliffe
Vicky McClure as Karen White
Arthur Darvill as Reverend Paul Coates
Pauline Quirke as Susan Wright
Will Mellor as Steve Connelly
Simone McAullay as Becca Fisher
David Bradley as Jack Marshall
Joe Sims as Nigel Carter
Tanya Franks as Lucy Stevens

SEASON THREE 27 February – 17 April 2017
1. EPISODE ONE (27 Feb 17)
2. EPISODE TWO (6 Mar 17)
3. EPISODE THREE (13 Mar 17)
4. EPISODE FOUR (20 Mar 17)
5. EPISODE FIVE (27 Mar 17)
6. EPISODE SIX (3 Apr 17)
7. EPISODE SEVEN (10 Apr 17)
8. EPISODE EIGHT (17 Apr 17)