Connect with us


Lark Rise To Candleford (BBC-1 2008-2011, Julia Sawalha, Olivia Hallinan)



Lark Rise To Candleford

Period drama Lark Rise To Candleford detailed life in the idyllically rural communities of Lark Rise and the more well to do Candleford in the late 19th century. The drama followed young Laura Timmins as she makes her way in life, moving from Lark Rise to Candleford to take a job with post mistress Dorcas Lane.

At the end of the first series Zillah sadly passed away leaving an emotional hole at the heart of the Post Office. Meanwhile Sir Timothy and Lady Adelaide left Candleford to start a new life in London. Loves young dream turned sour for Laura and Philip after his actions caused her father, Robert Timmins, to be sacked from his job.

On a happier note, everyone was delighted to discover that Dorcas would be staying at the Post Office when it transpired that Thomas never posted the deeds to the Post Office.

New arrivals for season two included charming new hotelier, James Dowland, who arrives in town and ruffles a few feathers, and Minnie, a new addition to the Post Office in Candleford, she plays Dorcas’s rather incompetent maid.

Filming took place in both Gloucestershire and Bristol. The books on which the series was based was published in 1945 and was based on Flora Thompson’s own early life.

Bill Gallagher, who has adapted the series said, “the books are crammed so full of stories that you can just shake the pages and another one falls out. But Flora Thompson’s stories are very particular; they are anecdotal and personal and therefore need a dramatist’s imagination and narrative skills to take them from a beautifully evoked idea and to turn them into a fully fledged, hour-long drama.”

The BBC built both the villages of Lark Rise and Candleford on farm land in Box and Neston Park in Wiltshire whilst the lord of the manor’s house was in reality Chavenage House in Gloucestershire.

production details
UK / BBC One / 39×60 minute episodes 1×75 minute episode / Broadcast 13 January 2008 – 13 February 2011

Creator: Bill Gallagher / Books: Flora Thompson / Music: Julian Knott / Producers: Grainne Marmion (season one) and Annie Tricklebank (season two) / Executive Producers: Susan Hogg and Bill Gallagher

Olivia Hallinan as Laura Timmins
Sarah Lancashire as Voice of adult Laura
Julia Sawalha as Dorcas Lane
Fergus Drysdale as Frank Timmins
Martha Murdoch as Ethel Timmins
Claudie Blakley as Emma Timmins
John Dagleish as Alf Arless
Thomas Rhys Jones as Edmund Timmins
Mark Heap as Thomas Brown
Karl Johnson as Twister Turrill
Linda Bassett as Queenie Turrill
Matilda Ziegler as Pearl Pratt
Sophie Miles as Sally Arless
Hope Yeomans as Lizzie Arless
Brendan Coyle as Robert Timmins
Victoria Hamilton as Ruby Pratt
Sandy McDade as Margaret Brown
Ruby Bentall as Minnie Mude (from season 2)
Harry Miles as Archie Arless (2008-2010)
Ben Aldridge as Daniel Parish (2010-2011)
Edward Darnell-Hayes as Sydney (2010-2011)
Jason Merrells as James Dowland (season 2)
Olivia Grant as Lady Adelaide Midwinter (2008-2010)
Stephen Marcus as Matthew Welby (2008)
Ben Miles as Sir Timothy Midwinter (2008)
Liz Smith as Zillah (2008)



and this just in





What's on and when. Broadcast, cable and streaming...

BRITISH FILM 1930-1990

The Viewer's Guide to British Film 1930-1990 Indepth guide to six decades of cinema in the UK.