Line of Duty (BBC 2012, Martin Compston, Vicky McClure)



Crime drama series Line of Duty focuses on the work of AC12, a police anti-corruption unit. Heading up the unit is Superintendant Ted Hastings, with Detective Inspector Matthew “Dot” Cotton, Detective Sergeant Steve Arnott and Detective Constable Kate Fleming completing the team.

In the first series Steve is working as part of a West Midlands anti-terrorism squad. He gets caught up in a conspiracy involving DCI Tony Gates (played by Lennie James) but refuses to lie and cover up. He is eventually asked to join AC12.

Line of Duty Vicky McClure

Vicky McClure as Kate Fleming

Seasons 2 and 3 focused on two cases that as the episodes progressed became more and more intertwined until eventually it was clear there was just one even bigger story at the heart of things. Beginning with an investigation involving Detective Inspector Lindsay Denton (a superb change of pace for Keeley Hawes) who may have planted evidence in her bid to bring down a major villain the series twists and turns at every opportunity. In the end it is the bringing down of a corrupt cop known only as “The Caddy” that has the hugest repercussions for the unit.

Line of Duty is a superbly tense series, like the best modern television this is no story of the week show but one that builds and builds. The show has also become one of the most popular BBC-2 shows ever (so much so that it is to move to BBC-1 from 2017) and has won a veritable stack of awards.

Line of Duty Keeley Hawes

Keeley Hawes as Lindsay Denton

Season one is pretty self contained but carries plenty of echoes throughout the rest of following two seasons. The big story that carried through seasons 2 and 3 (which we won’t reveal too much about for non-spoilers sake) does come to a conclusion but there are certainly enough strands left hanging to keep you wondering just where the series will go next.

Line of Duty

Martin Compston and Adrian Dunbar.

production details
UK / BBC-2 – World Productions / 16×60 minute episodes 1×90 minute episode / Broadcast 26 June 2012 – 28 April 2016

Creator: Jed Mercurio / Producers: Jed Mercurio (season 1), Peter Norris (seasons 2-3)

Martin Compston as Steve Arnott
Vicky McClure as Kate Fleming
Adrian Dunbar as Ted Hastings
Craig Parkinson as Matthew “Dor” Cotton
Keeley Hawes as Lindsay Denton (seasons 2-3)
Neil Morrissey as Nigel Morton (seasons 2-3)
Lennie James as DCI Tony Gates (season 1)
Gina McKee as Jackie Laverty (season 1)
Kate Ashfield as Jools Gates (season 1)
Jessica Raine as DC Georgia Trotman (season 2)
Daniel Mays as Sgt Daniel Waldron (season 3)
Arsher Ali as PC Harinderpal Bains (season 3)
Polly Walker as Gill Biggeloe (season 3)
Jonas Armstrong as Joe Nash (season 3)
Thandie Newton as DCI Roz Huntley (season 4)
Lee Ingleby as Nick Huntley (season 4)
Maya Sondhi as PC Maneet Bindra (season 4)
Royce Pierreson as Detective Constable Jamie Desford (season 4)

You may also be interested in...