Connect with us

TV

A Suitable Boy (BBC-1 2018)

Published

on

Edith (BBC-1 2017, Alison Steadman, John Cleese)

A Suitable Boy is a modern classic about a young woman’s search for love and identity in a newly independent, post-Partition India defining its own future, this beloved novel has never been adapted for the screen before. Now, Andrew Davies’ scripts will bring the story to a whole new audience with his signature blend of warmth, wit and humanity.

A Suitable Boy is the story of Lata, a young woman coming of age in northern India in 1951. Lata’s mother Mrs Rupa Mehra is determined to find her a husband, but after her sister’s conventional arranged marriage Lata is not convinced she wants the same path through life. Torn between duty to her family and the excitement of romance, Lata embarks on an epic journey of love, desire and heartache as three very different suitors vie for her hand. Her choice will play out against the tumultuous political backdrop of India at a crossroads, looking towards its first independent general election and carving out its own destiny.

Vikram Seth says: “It is a great pleasure to collaborate with the BBC and Andrew Davies on an adaptation of A Suitable Boy. I have carried with me for a long time the stories of Lata, her family and the many people they encounter. With Andrew and his team I feel they are in good hands, and I greatly look forward to seeing them brought to life for television.”

Screenwriter Andrew Davies says: “Lata’s trials of the heart speak as loudly to me now as when I first read Vikram’s epic novel two decades ago. She is a great literary heroine in the tradition of Jane Austen and George Eliot. But behind her stands a massive supporting cast of striking, funny, irrepressible characters and a vision of India in the 1950s that no reader can ever forget. It will make a wonderful series and I can’t wait to bring the magic of the book to life on screen.”

The series will be filmed on location in India.

cast
No casting details announced yet

key behind the scenes crew
Andrew Davies as Writer / Executive Producer
Vikram Seth as Original Author / Executive Producer
Faith Genhale as Executive Producer
Laura Lankester as Executive Producer
Lucy Richer as Executive Producer

show type
Period drama

broadcast from
In production for 2018
8×60 minute episodes

network and production companies
BBC One – Lookout Point

Advertisement












Latest

Acts of Violence (2018, Cole Hauser, Bruce Willis)Acts of Violence (2018, Cole Hauser, Bruce Willis)
Movies5 mins ago

Acts of Violence (2018, Cole Hauser, Bruce Willis)

In action thriller Acts of Violence, when his fiancee is kidnapped by human traffickers, Roman and his ex-military brothers set...

Wrecked: Last Meal (tbs 4 Sep 2018)Wrecked: Last Meal (tbs 4 Sep 2018)
Episodes14 mins ago

Wrecked: Last Meal (tbs 4 Sep 2018)

Last Meal: On the eve of The Hunt, Martha offers to the survivors’ one last meal of their choosing —...

L'Âge d'Or (1930, Gaston Modot, Lya Lys)L'Âge d'Or (1930, Gaston Modot, Lya Lys)
Movies18 mins ago

L’Âge d’Or (1930, Gaston Modot, Lya Lys)

No easily identifiable narrative can be found in Bunuel’s classic Surrealist film L’Âge d’Or, which is still shocking all these...

Hit the Floor (VH1 - BET 2013, Kimberly Elise, Taylour Paige) Hit the Floor (VH1 - BET 2013, Kimberly Elise, Taylour Paige) 
TV22 mins ago

Hit the Floor (VH1 – BET 2013, Kimberly Elise, Taylour Paige)

In drama series Hit The Floor Ahsha Hayes enters the wild world of professional basketball when she tries out for the...

Sophie's Choice (1982, Meryl Streep, Kevin Kline)Sophie's Choice (1982, Meryl Streep, Kevin Kline)
Movies33 mins ago

Sophie’s Choice (1982, Meryl Streep, Kevin Kline)

Set in New York in 1947, Sophie’s Choice is an emotionally wrenching account of a young writer’s obsession with a survivor of...

The Barkleys (NBC 1972, Joan Gerber, Julie McWhirter)The Barkleys (NBC 1972, Joan Gerber, Julie McWhirter)
TV1 hour ago

The Barkleys (NBC 1972, Joan Gerber, Julie McWhirter)

Inspired by the classic 70’s sitcom All in the Family (a show that questioned everything about the sitcom genre, turning...

The Lady Eve (1941, Barbara Stanwyck, Henry Fonda)The Lady Eve (1941, Barbara Stanwyck, Henry Fonda)
Movies1 hour ago

The Lady Eve (1941, Barbara Stanwyck, Henry Fonda)

The Lady Eve is perhaps the perfect movie comedy, with a runaway heiress – or, in this case, heir –...

Episodes2 hours ago

Sun, Sea And Selling Houses Episode 18 airs 23 Aug on Channel 4

Sun, Sea and Selling Houses, the overseas property show, continues it’s run. In this episode, Linda and Manuel Rodriguez help...

Singin' in the Rain (MGM 1952, Gene Kelly, Donald O'Connor)Singin' in the Rain (MGM 1952, Gene Kelly, Donald O'Connor)
Movies12 hours ago

Singin’ in the Rain (MGM 1952, Gene Kelly, Donald O’Connor)

Singin’ in the Rain is one of the classic musicals of all time, a stellar cast, led by Gene Kelly, Donald...

Previews

TV