Tenant Of Wildfell Hall, The (BBC-2 1968-1969, Janet Munro)

Period drama serial The Tenant of Wildfell Hall was based on the novel by Anne Bronte. Helen Graham seeks refuge in remote Wildfell Hall after running away from her brutish husband, Helen then falls in love with a local landowner. Each episode had a repeat the following Saturday @ 10.00pm.

The four episodes were titled:- 1. RECLUSE (28 Dec 1968) | 2. MARRIAGE (4 Jan 1969) | 3. REVOLT (9 Jan 1969) | 4. PURSUIT (18 Jan 1969)

production details
UK / BBC-2 / 4×45 minute episodes / 28 December 1968 – 18 January 1969 (Broadcast Sundays @ 10.35pm)

RELATED:   Simon Reeve Set for Two New BBC Two Series

Writer: Christopher Fry / Novel: Anne Bronte / Script Editor: Lennox Phillips / Costume Design: Raymond Hughes / Design: Raymond Cusick / Producer: David Conroy / Director: Peter Sasdy

Janet Munro as Helen
Margery Withers as Rachel
Jeremy Burring as Arthur
Anthony May as Fergus
Bryan Marshall as Gilbert
Megs Jenkins as Mrs Markham
Felicity Kendal as Rose
June Ellis as Mrs Wilson
Laurence Hardy as Reverend Mr Millward
Suzan Farmer as Eliza
William Gaunt as Lawrence
Corin Redgrave as Huntingdon
Jonathan Newth as Hargrave

Alastair James is the editor in chief for Memorable TV. He has been involved in media since his university days. Alastair is passionate about television, and some of his favourite shows include Line of Duty, Luther and Traitors. He is always on the lookout for hot new shows, and is always keen to share his knowledge with others.