Abide With Me (BBC-2 1976 with Cathleen Nesbitt and Zena Walker)

UK / BBC Two /1×70 minute episode / Broadcast 24 November 1976

Writer: Julian Mitchell / Music: Richard Rodney Bennett / Producer: Mark Shivas / Director: Moira Armstrong

Period drama. In the nineteen twenties an elderly lady takes a young girl as her housekeeper.

The Daily Telegraph review of the time stated that it was “full of loving touches and rich in human understanding”.

RELATED:   'Doctor Who' Bids Farewell to Ruby Sunday in an Emotional Season Finale

Cathleen Nesbitt as Mrs Hollins
Zena Walker as Iris Allen
Ann Francis as Winnie
Phyllida Law as Joan Drummond
John Nettleton as Robert Drummond
Geoffrey Bayldon as Vicar
Denis Carey as Mr Spanier
Sharon Wells as Beatric
Laura James as Barbara
Denise Hoskins as Ann Mason
Richard Grant as Landowner
Rob Middleton as Organist
Marguerite Young as Mrs Whitaker
Paul Atkins as Village Boy
Stephen Rees as Village Boy
Jeffrey Bird as Village Boy

Alastair James is the editor in chief for Memorable TV. He has been involved in media since his university days. Alastair is passionate about television, and some of his favourite shows include Line of Duty, Luther and Traitors. He is always on the lookout for hot new shows, and is always keen to share his knowledge with others.