Connect with us


1990: Pentagons (BBC-2 20 Feb 1978, with John Nolan)



1990 Pentagons

In Pentagons, the opening episode of the second season of 1990, Home Secretary Dan Mellor is gone (most likely to one of the Adult Rehabilitation Centres) and a tough new female Home Secretary has taken his place. Also gone is Delly Lomas. Lomas was somewhat sympathetic towards Kyle. Taking the place of Lomas is former Department of Health leader Lyn Blake. She and Kyle were once more than a little friendly and she believes she can change his thinking.

In shock of shocks, in the opening moments of the episode, Faceless reveals himself to Kyle. Later when Kyle visits Blake at home she makes it plain she knows about Faceless and has been tasked with bringing him down (and Kyle too). Kyle wants to get Faceless out of the country but he is determined to stay.

The current government’s time is due to be up shortly which should technically mean a general election. But of course the PCD will make sure that doesn’t happen.

Kyle has become a member of a new dissident group called Pentagon (it is forbidden for groups of five or more to gather in discussion) – each cell of Pentagon is made up of five people.


John Nolan, best known for his role in the highly popular Shabby Tiger, plays Tomson, a member of Kyle’s Pentagon group who is plotting an assassination attempt on Skardon – the man Tomson holds responsible for the imprisonment of his father. If Tomson goes ahead with the attempt the results could be disastrous for the Pentagon.

1990 Pentagons

Lisa Harrow plays Lynn Blake, who has replaced Delly Lomas as second in command at the PCD.

production details
UK / BBC Two / 1×50 minute episode / Broadcast 20 February 1978 at 8.10pm

Writer: Wilfred Greatorex / Production Design: Paul Joel / Director: Peter Sasdy

Series: 1990 Season 2 Episode 1

Edward Woodward as Jim Kyle
David McKail as PCD Inspector MacRae
Robert Lang as Herbert Skardon
Lisa Harrow as Lynn Blake
Tony Doyle as Dave Brett
Paul Hardwick as Faceless (Maudsley)
Oscar James as Everton
John Nolan as Tomson
Paul Beech as Green
Norman Mitchell as Sewell
Barry Lowe as Frank Fenton
Clive Swift as Tony Doran
Yvonne Mitchell as Kate Smith
De Souza as Perez Edward
David Rose as Policeman


Alastair James is the editor in chief for Memorable TV. He has been involved in media since his university days. Alastair is passionate about television, and some of his favourite shows include Line of Duty, Luther and Traitors. He is always on the lookout for hot new shows, and is always keen to share his knowledge with others.

The Bold and the Beautiful The Bold and the Beautiful
News14 hours ago

The Bold and the Beautiful, Friday April 19, 2024, CBS

On the episode of ‘The Bold and the Beautiful‘ airing on CBS on Friday April 19, Deacon Sharpe is in...

General Hospital Today General Hospital Today
News14 hours ago

General Hospital, Friday April 19, 2024, ABC

On ‘General Hospital,’ Friday’s episode is packed with surprises and intrigue. Lois teases Brook Lynn and Olivia with exciting hints,...

Days of Our Lives Days of Our Lives
News14 hours ago

Days of Our Lives, Friday April 19, 2024, Peacock

On ‘Days of Our Lives,’ Friday’s episode reveals that Jada overhears Rafe pressuring Everett to sign the divorce papers, acknowledging...

The Young and the Restless The Young and the Restless
News14 hours ago

The Young and the Restless, Friday April 19, 2024, CBS

On Friday’s episode of ‘The Young and the Restless,’ Adam opens up to Sharon about Connor’s trauma, questioning his own...

The Young and the Restless The Young and the Restless
News14 hours ago

The Young and the Restless, April 22, 2024, CBS

The drama is heating up on ‘The Young and the Restless‘ on CBS as the week of April 22nd unfolds,...

Falling in Love in Niagara Falling in Love in Niagara
News16 hours ago

Falling in Love in Niagara Movie Premiere, April 20, 2024, Hallmark

Hallmark presents the romantic movie “Falling in Love in Niagara,” a heartwarming tale of self-discovery and new beginnings. The film,...

Murdoch Mysteries Murdoch Mysteries
News16 hours ago

Murdoch Mysteries, April 20, 2024, Ovation, “Murdoch and the Treasure of Lima”

Ovation presents an episode of Murdoch Mysteries, “Murdoch and the Treasure of Lima,” taking viewers back to the early 20th...

My Son Has My Doctor's Face My Son Has My Doctor's Face
News16 hours ago

My Child Has My Doctor’s Face Movie Premiere, April 20, 2024, Lifetime

On Saturday, April 20, 2024, Lifetime presents the movie premiere My Child Has My Doctor’s Face, starring Natalie Polisson, Daniel...

Love Your Weekend with Alan Titchmarsh Love Your Weekend with Alan Titchmarsh
News11 hours ago

Love Your Weekend with Alan Titchmarsh, 21 April 2024, ITV1, “Maureen Lipman, Danny Jones”

Love Your Weekend with Alan Titchmarsh returns with a new episode on Sunday 21 April on ITV1, featuring an intriguing...

News11 hours ago

Raymond Blanc’s Royal Kitchen Gardens, 21 April 2024, ITV1, “Dumfries House”

Raymond Blanc’s Royal Kitchen Gardens takes viewers on a culinary journey as the renowned chef returns to the majestic Dumfries...

Britain's Got Talent Britain's Got Talent
News11 hours ago

Britain’s Got Talent Auditions 2, Sunday 21 April 2024, ITV1

Britain’s Got Talent continues its 17th series with another evening of auditions, as hopefuls take to the stage aiming to...

BBC Two Logo BBC Two Logo
News11 hours ago

60 Classical Years: BBC Two at 60, 21 April 2024

Marking the 60th anniversary of BBC Two, this special three hour long programme celebrates the rich history of classical music...

News11 hours ago

Our Changing Planet, 21 April 2024, BBC One, “Restoring Our Reefs”

In “Restoring Our Reefs,” the latest instalment of Our Changing Planet, Steve Backshall explores the innovative efforts to revive and...

Weatherman Walking Weatherman Walking
News11 hours ago

Weatherman Walking, 22 April 2024, BBC Wales, “Taff Trail Towards Cardiff”

In the second episode of Weatherman Walking’s 14th series, Derek Brockway embarks on a journey along the Taff Trail towards...

Bardon Quinn (Ben Rose), Fiona (Freya Parks), Dante (Levi Brown), Jeannie Keefe (Eve Austin) Bardon Quinn (Ben Rose), Fiona (Freya Parks), Dante (Levi Brown), Jeannie Keefe (Eve Austin)
News11 hours ago

This Town Episode 5, 21 April, BBC ONE,

In the fifth episode of This Town, Dante embarks on a quest for new experiences, pushing himself outside his comfort...

Match of the Day 2 Match of the Day 2
News11 hours ago

Match of the Day 2, 21 April 2024, BBC One

Match of the Day 2 returns with highlights and analysis from four Premier League fixtures, including a crucial match for...