NCIS (CBS 2003, Mark Harmon, Michael Weatherly)

NCIS (aka Naval Criminal Investigative Service) is an action drama, spinning off from the series JAG, about a team of special agents whose mission is to investigate any crime that has a shred of evidence connected to Navy and Marine Corps personnel, regardless of rank or position.

Leading this team that operates outside of the military chain of command is NCIS Special Agent Leroy Jethro Gibbs (Mark Harmon), a skilled investigator and interrogator who is smart, tough and willing to bend the rules to get the job done. Working under Gibbs is Agent Anthony Dinozzo (Michael Weatherly), a former homicide detective who joined NCIS just a few years ago, but who has instincts that can come only from working on the streets.

Joining them is Agent Abby Sciuto (Pauley Perrette), a gifted forensic scientist whose dark wit matches her goth-style hair and clothes, and Dr. Donald ‘Ducky’ Mallard (David McCallum), a medical examiner.

RELATED:   Casualty Storm Damage: Sinking Ships - Day 2 (BBC iPlayer, June 22, 2024)

From murder and espionage to terrorism and stolen submarines, these special agents traverse the globe to investigate all crimes with Navy or Marine Corps ties.

production details
USA | CBS | 45 minutes | Broadcast from 23 September 2003

Creators: Donald P. Bellisario, Don McGill

Mark Harmon as Leroy Jethro Gibbs
Sasha Alexander as Caitlin Todd (seasons 1–2; guest: seasons 3, 8–9, 12)
Michael Weatherly as Anthony DiNozzo (seasons 1–13)
Pauley Perrette as Abby Sciuto (seasons 1–15)
David McCallum as Dr. Donald “Ducky” Mallard
Sean Murray as Timothy McGee (season 2–; recurring: season 1)
Cote de Pablo as Ziva David (seasons 3–11; guest: season 3)
Lauren Holly as Jenny Shepard (seasons 3–5; recurring: 3; guest: season 9, 12)
Rocky Carroll as Leon Vance (season 6–; recurring: season 5)
Brian Dietzen as Dr Jimmy Palmer (season 10–; recurring: seasons 1–9)
Emily Wickersham as Eleanor Bishop (season 11–; recurring: season 11)
Wilmer Valderrama as Nicholas Torres (season 14–)
Jennifer Esposito as Alexandra Quinn (season 14)
Duane Henry as Clayton Reeves (seasons 14–15; guest: season 13)
Maria Bello as Dr. Jacqueline Sloane (season 15–)
Diona Reasonover as Kasie Hines (season 16–; recurring: season 15)

Alastair James is the editor in chief for Memorable TV. He has been involved in media since his university days. Alastair is passionate about television, and some of his favourite shows include Line of Duty, Luther and Traitors. He is always on the lookout for hot new shows, and is always keen to share his knowledge with others.