Cowboys, The (ABC 1974, Moses Gunn, Diana Douglas)

The Cowboys ABC 1974

Based on the novel by William Dale Jennings and a movie starring John Wayne and four of the series stars – A Martinez, Sean Kelly, Robert Carradine and Clay O’Brien, The Cowboys was a sort of teenage Western in which 7 young boys – aged 9 to 17 – faced the problems of growing up while helping a widow run a ranch in the New Mexico Territory of the 1870’s.

The ranch foreman, Jebediah Nightlinger and the widow, Mrs. Andersen, were around for adult supervision as the boys fought off teenage Comanches and adult rustlers.

Moses Gunn as Jebediah Nightlinger
Diana Douglas as Annie Andersen
Jim Davis as Marshal Bill Winter
A Martinez as Cimarron
Robert Carradine as Slim
Sean Kelly as Jimmy
Kerry MacLane as Homer
Clint Howard as Steve
Mitch Brown as Hardy
Clay O’Brien as Weedy

production details
Country: USA
Year of Release: 1974
Network and Production Company: ABC – Warner
Duration: 13×30 minute episodes
Aired From: 6 February 1974 – 14 August 1974

Other posts featuring the following