Connect with us


Van der Valk: The Rainbow Ends Here (ITV 10 Oct 1973, with Lalla Ward)



Van der Valk Rainbow Ends Here

In The Rainbow Ends Here, the final episode of season two, Judith Stolle, sister of very wealthy hotel magnate Evert Stolle, is kidnapped. The kidnappers, a couple called Eddy and Astrid, are demanding a million guilders for her safe return. A friend of Judith’s alerts Van der Valk to what is going on but Evert Stolle is determined that the police should not get involved. Of course there is zero chance that Van der Valk will stay out of it.

Van der Valk Rainbow Ends Here

Donald Burton and Christopher Timothy.

At one stage Evert meets one of the kidnappers in an art gallery to discuss the drop off point, there looks to be the use of some dodgy chroma-key/green screen to suggest they are actually there though.

It’s a good end to the season, you think the kidnapping is not going to end well, given that both Astrid and Eddy are very twitchy, but thankfully Van der Valk saves the day just in the nick of time.

Van der Valk Rainbow Ends Here

Lalla Ward.

An excellent supporting cast, almost every role is taken by someone you know from Christopher Timothy as the hotel desk clerk, to Lalla Ward and Donald Burton as the Stolles. Jim Norton and Prunella Ransome play the kidnappers and there is a small role for Margaret Ashcroft who at the time was also appearing in The Main Chance and The Brothers.

Van der Valk Rainbow Ends Here

Barry Foster and Margaret Ashcroft.

production details
UK / ITV – Thames / 1×50 minute episode / Broadcast Wednesday 10 October 1973

Writer: Philip Broadley / Production Design: Neville Green, Mike Hall / Director: Graham Evans

Series: Van der Valk Season 2 Episode 7

Van der Valk Rainbow Ends Here

Jim Norton.

Barry Foster as Van der Valk
Michael Latimer as Kroon
Susan Travers as Arlette
Donald Burton as Evert Stolle
Lalla Ward as Judith Stolle
Christopher Timothy as Ernests
Jim Norton as Eddy Linden
Prunella Ransome as Astrid
Margaret Ashcroft as Marlies Kernkamp
Michael Atkinson as Spruyt
Robert Swann as Paul Hofmeester