Connect with us


Terra Nova (BBC Drama, Michael N. Harbour)



Whitney Houston & Bobbi Kristina

One off BBC drama Terra Nova dramatised Captain R.F. Scott’s ill fated expedition to the South Pole in 1910. The focus us on Captain Scott (Michael N. Harbour) writing letters home, especially his last, recalling past meetings with Amundsen (Knut Husebø). The action moved from Scott’s tent, the Antarctic landscape and a British lecture hall where Scott and Amundsen meet.

The Terra Nova was the name of the ship that transported Scott and his crew to their starting point but author Ted Tally, who wrote the original play, also suggested that the title represented the inner landscape of the two main characters.

Cast: Michael N. Harbour (Captain R. F. Scott, CVO RN), Knut Husebø (Roald Amundsen), Kate Fahy (Kathleen Scott), Shaughan Seymour (Doctor Edward A. Wilson), Jack Chissick (Lieutenant Henry R. Bowers, RIM), Richard Durden (Captain Lawrence E.G. Oates), Robert Pugh (P/O Edgar Evans, RN).

Writer: John Bruce / Play: Ted Tally / Script Editor: Richard Langridge / Music: Kenyon Emrys-Roberts and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra / Production Design: Phil Roberson / Producer: Innes Lloyd / Director: John Bruce

UK / BBC One / 1×95 minute episode / Broadcast 13 November 1984