Connect with us


The Changes: A Pile of Stones (BBC-1 10 Feb 1975, with Keith Ashton)



The Changes BBC 1975

In A Pile of Stones Vicky, having taken refuge in a farm’s machinery barn, has been put on trial accused of witchcraft. When she is found guilty village leader Davy Gordon pronounces death by stoning with the whole village taking part.

Knowing that what the village want to do is deeply wrong Jonathan and his sister Margaret plan to rescue Vicky.

Like Vicky Jonathan is no longer being affected by machines and sets a tractor going in the dead of night to create a diversion whilst he and Margaret rescue Vicky. Jonathan has a boat, Heartsease, which he plans to use to take Vicky down river and possibly even to France.

Heartsease is the title of the second book in the Peter Dickinson trilogy the series is based on (the first is The Devil’s Children and the third is The Weathermonger).

production details
UK / BBC One / 1×25 minute episode / Broadcast 3 Feb 1975 at 5.20pm

Writer: Anna Home / Production Design: Paul Munting / Director: John Prowse

Series: The Changes Episode 6 (of 10)

Vicky Williams as Nicky
Keith Ashton as Jonathan
David Garfield as Davy Gordon
Jack Watson as Peter
Zuleika Robson as Margaret
Stella Tanner as Anne
Tony Hughes as Jack