Martin Chuzzlewit (BBC-2 1994, Paul Scofield, Tom Wilkinson)

Oscar winner Paul Scofield leads a glittering cast in this lavish production of Martin Chuzzlewit, Charles Dickens’ funniest novel. Set in England and America, this classic tale of greed, lies and deceit features a host of memorable characters who will stop at nothing to get their hands on Old Martin Chuzzlewit’s money. Will it go to Seth Pecksniff who burrows into the old man’s favor with hilarious obsequiousness? Will the grasping Jonas Chuzzlewit stoop to murder in order to get his hands on the inheritance? Or will the strutting reptile Tigg Montague engineer their downfall? Can the disinherited Young Martin return from America in time to save his grandfather from his own relatives?

A magnificent array of Dickens’ strongest characters, combined with a thrilling tale, ensure a top television experience. Also starring Tom Wilkinson (Prime Suspect, Priest, The Full Monty), Pete Postlethwaite (In the Name of the Father, Brassed Off), Julia Sawalha ( Absolutely Fabulous, Pride and Prejudice), Keith Allen (Shallow Grave, Trainspotting), Elizabeth Spriggs and Joan Sims.

RELATED:   BBC Proms 2024: How to Watch and Listen

production details
UK / BBC Two – WGBH / 1×80 minute episodes 5×60 minute episodes / Broadcast 7 November – 12 December 1994

Writer: David Lodge / Novel: Charles Dickens / Script Editor: Nell Denton / Music: Geoffrey Burgon / Executive Producer: Rebecca Eaton / Producer: Chris Parr / Director: Pedr James

Paul Scofield as Old Martin Chuzzlewit
Tom Wilkinson as Seth Pecksniff
Emma Chambers as Charity Pecksniff
Philip Franks as Tom Pinch
Julia Sawalha as Mercy Pecksniff
Keith Allen as Jonas Chuzzlewit
Pauline Turner as Mary Graham
Maggie Steed as Mrs Todgers
Steve Nicolson as Mark Tapley
Lynda Bellingham as Mrs Lupin
Peter Wingfield as John Westlock
Pete Postlethwaite as Montague Tigg
Peter Hugo Daly as Chevy Slyme
Ben Walden as Young Martin Chuzzlewit
Paul Francis as Bailey
Cornelia Hayes O’Herlihy as Ruth Pinch
John Padden as Augustus Moddle
David Bradley as David Crimple
Sam Kelly as Mr Mould
Joan Sims as Betsy Prig
Graham Stark as Nadget

Alastair James is the editor in chief for Memorable TV. He has been involved in media since his university days. Alastair is passionate about television, and some of his favourite shows include Line of Duty, Luther and Traitors. He is always on the lookout for hot new shows, and is always keen to share his knowledge with others.